JSY Disbursement | AP Online Centers | Kanakadurga Temple | Kuchipudi | Tourism | KeyContacts | Govt.links | Sitemap | Contact Us | Downloads
Skip Navigation Links
Tender Notice for General Election Photo Voter Slips new new
Application for General Election Postal Ballot new new
Tenders called for Printing of Ballot Papers new
Best Available Schools new
VRO-VRA Selectedlist new
Tender Notice -BC Welfare, Krishna District
Shortlisted Candidates-division wise for Selection to the post of VRA- Krishna -District
Shortlisted Candidates for Verification of Certificates for the post of VRO Krishna -District
VRO Exam Result  
VRA Exam Result  
VRO-VRA Result Website new
Seniority list of eligible Office Subordinate and Record Assistants for the post of Junior Assistant on Promotion-Revenue Unit of Krishna
Notification for Mandal Resource Coordinators for each Mandal in Krishna District
Particulars of fresh water aquaculture farms issue of provisional registrations certificates-2013

Welcome to Krishna District

Krishna District used to be one of the oldest British administered areas of Andhra Pradesh. The district was formed in 1759. It was formerly called Machilipatnam District and in 1759 when the then Guntur District was abolished, certain Taluks (regions) were added to this District which was renamed as Krishna District, after the mighty river Krishna. The District is headquartered at Machilipatnam.

Krishna district is centrally located in coastal Andhra Pradesh and well connected by Rail, Road and Air.

The Telugu Dialect of this region is often considered to be standard dialect of Telugu.

The world famous Kuchipudi dance form originated from this district.

The district is divided into upland and coastal area. Kolleru Lake, one of India's most ecologically significant wetlands, lies partly within the district.

Vijayawada translates to mean "place of victory". According to the legends, Arjuna performed penance on these hills to appease Lord Shiva, who appeared before him and bestowed him with the prized weapon 'Pasupathasthra'. Also Goddess Durga is believed to have rested here after slaying the wicked demon Mahishasura in a fierce battle. The famous Kanaka Durga shrine located on top of the hills and overlooking river Krishna, is thronged by hundreds of devotees daily.

Prakasam Barrage at Vijayawada across Krishna River was constructed in 1957 with Rs. 3.57 crores. It caters the needs of Agriculture in Krishna, Guntur and West Godavari districts.

The chief rivers of the district are the Krishna (length 1,280 km), Muniyeru (Muneru), the Tammileru and Budameru. Krishna river debouches in to the Bay of Bengal at Hamsala Divi and Nachugunta in this district. The district contains small hillstreams viz., Jayanthi, Kattaleru, Ippalavagu, Upputeru, Telleru, Ballaleru, Nadimeyeru

Krishna district has Vijayawada ,Machilipatnam and Eluru (Partly) parliamentary constituencies.

Krishna district has 16 constituencies namely Tiruvuru (SC), Nandigama (SC), Mylavaram, Jaggayyapeta, Vijayawada (West), Vijayawada (Central), Vijayawada (East), Penamaluru, Nuzvid, Gannavaram, Pedana, Gudivada, Kaikaluru, Machilipatnam, Avanigadda, Pamarru (SC).

Krishna district has 4 Revenue Divisions, 50 Mandals, 1 Municipal Corporation (Vijayawda Municipal Corporation), 5 Municipalities.

The Bus complex (PNBS-Pandit Nehru Bus Station) at Vijayawada is one of the biggest in Asia.

The Railway station at Vijayawada is the 2nd Busiest Junction in India. More than 200 trains pass by/originate/terminate at this railway station.

Airport is located at Gannavaram which is 16 km north east of Vijayawada connecting the city to Hyderabad, Chennai, Bangalore, Rajahmundry.

Four national highways pass through the district

  • NH-5 Chennai to Kolkata
  • NH-9 Pune to Machilipatnam
  • NH-221 Vijayawada to Jagdalpur
  • NH-214 Kathipudi to Ongole

A number of stalwarts in film industry and sports zone hail from Krishna district.

Krishna district is the symbol of cultural heritage of Telugu people.